Any Tips on making vocals sound better?!

Neuanfang

Neuanfang
I've been working on this track for about 2 weeks now, Everything is sounding good, but I feel like the vocals are not really up to par... I'm kind of new to editing vocals, I won't lie.

Any compression tips?

It sounds really good but I'm stuck because the vocals are loud and when I turn the volume down it's too quiet

I would start by lowering everything else around it. Then when you lower the vocal you will have it sitting on top. You will want to add an Eq to make the Vocal cut through the mix, and then cut the audio around the Freq that you just boosted. Then you should add the compression to control the vocal that is pushing through the mix. This is only one method of controlling the vocal. The vocal track may also need to automation on the fader as well to keep louder portions of the take under control.

As with any mixing you need to ensure that you start with everything as loud as possible

Then you lower the level of anything that is obscuring your first point of interest not to the point of making it stand out, but just so that it is audible above everything else

Repeat for each new area of interest - leaving those areas that have already been set as they are.

Only when you cannot achieve this by changing levels alone do you need to consider using a compressor on a troublesome track - remember that a compressor is about adjusting the dynamic profile of the sound not for amplifying it or otherwise making it louder

Now consider eq

Readjust levels if needed to accommodate the new level that the applied eq is creating for each track/channel

Now consider fx - insert vs send fx is an important consideration and is about whether you want to create a unique sound prior to the mix stage or want to add shine/shimmer/space/etc with control of much fx comes back from each device used