Adding 9ths, 11ths, 13ths to chords

jeffersonparish

Hello geniuses,

I'm primary a lyricist and topline writer for others; I'm not a musician by any means. However, I've been learning music theory very slowly to help me communicate with the more musically literate people I deal with.

For chords, I've finally progressed beyond basic triads, and I'm now comfortable creating progressions with 7ths and some 9ths.

11ths and 13ths have especially become a challenge. Not so much the upper notes themselves but using them in progressions without sounding forced or out of place. I've found a lot of songs with 2-5-1 progressions that use them, but when I try it, I find myself playing every chord in the scale to find the next matching chord.

For some reason, I've been okay with using dominant 9th chords but when I make it major 9ths and minor / major 11ths and 13ths, I get stuck finding the chords before and after it.

Do any of you use any common patterns with progressions for these upper extension chords???

Thanks,

Jay

Last edited:
Hey Jay,

I'm not the best to answer your question as I don't play THAT much jazz, but I
would like to point out one thing in particular:

First of all, most people say flat and sharp 11 or 13, not minor/major (this would
even be considered wrong for the 11. The correct term would be diminished or
augmented). Just a quick note :)

Secondly, be careful with the 11 in major as it classifies as an avoid note. Especially
since you're a topline writer, this is something to look out for.

I've written an article on this on my blog which you can check out here:
Do Not Write Another Melody Until You’ve Read This (Avoid Notes) | Holistic Songwriting

Looking forward to all the other answers,
Friedemann

First of all, most people say flat and sharp 11 or 13, not minor/major (this would
even be considered wrong for the 11. The correct term would be diminished or
augmented). Just a quick note :)