about timbaland

salvia

Hey guys,

Dont you find it funny that Timbaland took a trip to europe, hung out with some dance producers over there, cam back and started using dance synths in his music, and now suddenly everyone is copying that electro sound?

I just find it weird how a lot of people in the US arent aware of whats going on in the world and just live in their little cocoon till someone brings it to them. There is so much more out there in terms of music.

Anyway, its been buggin me for a while. Peace.

That's just lame. You think he wasn't being innovative when mixing his sound with euro-club sh*t?

I didn't put classical elements in my beats until I started playing violin and listening to/working on orchestral scores, does that make me just as big of a "fraud?"

I think if you listen to PRE Timbaland disco/trance/techno era, you'll notice that Hip-Hop was starting to move into that direction (IMO). Timbaland makes a lot club beats anyway, I think he just happened to find inspiration when he went to Europe, maybe even found some nice synth sounds he wanted to use. As far as bugging you, I don't see why it should. Does it bother you that Kanye West uses sampled oldies in his beats too?

On another note, don't you think possibly he worked with some of these trance producers to expand his knowledge of music?

Last edited:
...He was talking about us not being innovative, not timbaland lol.

He wasn't knocking Timbaland for using this style...sounded more like a praise that he was the first to do it and he finds it funny that all of the sudden so many OTHER producers and beatmakers try to do it here in the U.S. now.

That's the way I read it anyway...