What am I missing to get a professional sound?

benjibloublou

Hey all,

Noob here. I've been working on Ableton Live 9 for just a few days and I'm surprised how most things sound to me like 00's Nokia ringtones. I've compared my sounds to tracks you can hear on Majestic Casual's Youtube channel (I mainly intend to compose this kind of stuff) and Majestic sounds a lot more pro. Now, I'm sure there are several reasons for that, but I'd like to know where to dig more specifically.

• does practicing with the effects, instruments, etc. in Ableton eventually makes your stuff sound pro?
  • or do pro tracks rely on more advanced software and hardware?
  • in particular, do pro tracks often use real instruments recordings? I can't imagine having a nice guitar strum directly through Ableton, but I might be wrong...
  • and to make it more practical, can you cite any famous electro artist (let's say with at least some hundred thousands views on Youtube) who uses nearly only Ableton or a comparable DAW?

For info, I have a good music theory and guitar background and I am not a beginner in composition.

Thanks a lot! :o

you nailed it in your first suggestion - practice and lots of it, 20 hours to acquire a new skill, perhaps, but several years of 8 hour sessions to master it (ca. 10k hours)

happy hunting

It's well possible to make pro sounding stuff with Live alone. Of course, most people will have somewhat differing preferences and will augment Live's capabilities with extra plugins or hardware of their choice - but that's preference, not the line between an amateur and a pro. As said, practice makes perfect.

Keep at it, keep experimenting, that's the key, you also have to recognize the point where to stop and to understand what's gonna sound best, most of the time, right sound is hidden somewhere in right mixing settings.