New Studio- What to buy?

Mossett

Hey guys, new to the forums, Names Mossett. I've been producing on and off for around 4 years. Currently 18 and will be studying Music Production (Electronic and Urban) at college. I've produced Dubstep/Drum and bass whilst I was around 14 but I have decided that Deep house is the way forward for me due to my love for the genre.

I have invested in a new computer and laptop which will be able to handle everything I throw it. I now need to know what else I will need for a basic set-up or if it's needed at all. I currently do not own a sound card minus the on board one so if possible, could you recommend a good sound card ? I've heard the emu range are excellent but again, have no real life experience with them.

My college has great producing facilities and studios specified for the production of urban and electronic music and I can use this in my out of study times.

The only thing I currently own in regards to music production would be the the desktop I own and the laptop.

I've been looking at the following but unsure as to whether or not I actually need them and if it's overkill.

A Midi keyboard controller - Novation Launchkey has tickled my fancies but it doesn't have a pitch module but does have quite a lot of launchpads. I think most of my music at the minute will be loop trigger based.

Studio monitors for Under £200 a pair, with a good low freq which are also accurate.

Last edited:
if your using your laptop i suggest getting a portable nice sized midi keyboard with at lease 25 keys to get you started in your daw... from there i suggest headphone monitors and when you get really serious you can go for studio monitors and acoustic treatment etc..