Need help treating my room

dcb83

Hi guys, I'm a turbo newbie when it comes to acoustics...
So as I illustrated in the picture, this room is 10x11, 8' height
It'll be used for monitoring and some recording.

What I have on hand right now are
2 x 2'' x 24 x 24'' panels
5 x 2'' x 24 x 48'' panels
2 x 4'' x 24 x 48'' panel bass traps

I was thinking of placing my desk facing the window and putting up thick curtains over the window. What I like about positioning my myself facing the left wall is the diffusion I'll be getting from the book shelf right behind me. The book shelf can be moved around or even taken out.

Should I place a large rug covering most of the floor?
What should I do about that entrance where the door is?
Can I use my bass traps as a cloud, and treat the corners with foam?

Any help would be so appreciated.

Attachments

• room_plan.jpg
    room_plan.jpg
    64.3 KB · Views: 69
Hi guys, I'm a turbo newbie when it comes to acoustics...
So as I illustrated in the picture, this room is 10x11, 8' height
It'll be used for monitoring and some recording.

What I have on hand right now are
2 x 2'' x 24 x 24'' panels
5 x 2'' x 24 x 48'' panels
2 x 4'' x 24 x 48'' panel bass traps

I was thinking of placing my desk facing the window and putting up thick curtains over the window. What I like about positioning my myself facing the left wall is the diffusion I'll be getting from the book shelf right behind me. The book shelf can be moved around or even taken out.

Should I place a large rug covering most of the floor?
What should I do about that entrance where the door is?

Can I use my bass traps as a cloud, and treat the corners with foam?

Any help would be so appreciated.

I would face the window I think it is going to work the best for you in this room. What type of bass traps do you have? What are they made of; test results etc.
For the corners you are going to need something very deep and ideally something that absorbs well done to at least 60hz