Help Starting a HomeStudio......

P

Prophet2Profit

How is everyone....Can anyone start me on a path to somewhere.....

I need a soundcard so I can use a good studio mic on my PC, I was thinkin either tha LAYLA3G or tha GINA3G..But I'm not sure if tha Layla is to big...

I'm a rookie at all this production ****, but decided to start tryin because I need my music to sound better,(I write).....

Basically I wanted to build my studio using as much computer programs as possible & as few actual peices of real equipment as possible.....

What would be your advice on what I need to get started as in programs & sound card, to have a good set up to produce good beats & record high quality vocals....just so I can make complete high quality songs for a good reasonable price...What should I get??????.....

You can get me on yahoo IM@ Str8Prophet heres my music so you can get a feel.... www.soundclick.com/mmm602akaprophet

thank friends.....

well first of all, since youre looking to go almost completely software you wont need tons of inputs like the layla has. the gina should be fine but you might not even need that many inputs. look into the maudio audiophile or the emu 0404. im assuming youll be recording vocals and youll be using a condenser so youll need a preamp. something like a presonus tubepre, or if you have more money to drop, a eureka.

as far as programs, download the demos for fl studio and reason, try them out see which one you like best and get it. youll also need some kind of midi controller. you can get a good 2 or 3 octave keyboard/midi controller for less than $200 (maudio oxygen or edirol pcr-30).

and if youre like almost everyone else on this site youll want to sample some stuff so youll need soundforge and a multitracker. theres plenty of free multitrackers, a good one (that ive actually used) is kristal. if you need vst(i)'s, however, youll need to buy something like cubase or sonar.