Essentials for hiphop home studio

I

ITW

Hows it going lads and lasses,

I am planning to break into what I believe to be a profitable niche market and that is the emerging Irish Hip Hop scene. I currently am a member of this community on the emceeing front, though as I am training as a sound engineer I believe I can put my talents to good effect by opening a home studio where local and national artists can record. As it is a fledgling community, most are unable to afford major studio production and record labels are slow to catch the trend. My aim is to set up a hiphop friendly home studio, and what I need advice on is what should be the key components of this studio, and how much I should be willing to invest.
Thanks in advance,
Kev

I can't tell you the details of pricing and what not but you can probably assume that your clients will want at least these 2 things:

Pro Tools and a MPCxxxx sampler.
You might also look into getting a Triton Studio.

I personally don't feel that these are the essential items for hip-hop or any music but they are the "hip" items nowadays.

Last edited:
i started with a mpc2000xl and then added on from there.

I think from your post that you are saying that you want to open a studio where people can record for cheap. Now I must say that unless you have loads of money, it will cost a lot of money to buy the equipment, soundproof the room, build a vocal booth and everything else. And then on top of that it will cost a lot to maintain the studio. However, you could mean you want to just set up a small home studio with a few bits of equipment, not really care about soundproofiin etc.
Anyway, what is best is that you research. Even if it takes you a year to research everything. It will be time well invested. You will pick up stuff, and hopefully all the knowledge you gain can be used to make the studio better. That's just my opinion. Hope it helps....good luck.

ima give it to ya straight.