Bedroom producer to studio producer

adge2013

I've been making music for about 6 years, but they were always just instrumentals.
In the last 2 years I've started to make full songs, writing lyrics and finding singers.

When it came down to recording the voice I found a studio to use, but I realised....I don't have a clue what to do in there!

The few times i've been in the studio with singers, there's always been an engineer there who already has the equipment set up and takes control of the recording.

My question is... is there anything I can be doing/watching/reading to help prepare me for more time in the studio?

I mean my goal is to make money from this and to go on to produce in studios, possibly my own home studio but I can't find anything on the internet (weirdly) which explains the studio set up from scratch.

There must be others in the same position, any advice?
I felt pretty stupid saying to the engineers that I didn't know what to do in the studio...!

I don't think there's anything wrong admitting that you've never worked in the studio - better that way than wasting everyone's time fiddling about without a clue. You can of course look up what the particular studio uses and try to at least get a visual grasp of how things work (like learning how their console is laid out, how the routing works etc.) but of course the real learning will only happen when you're actually there.

Are you solely a producer or a producer and an artist? If you want to produce eventually in your own home studio, use commercial studios as a learning experience via observing what pros do. Be mindful that many commercial studios are closing.

I'm the producer and occasional songwriter.
I guess it just felt strange to be the producer of the songs, but yet not be the one pushing the buttons.
I suppose it's a case of practise and being in that environment.
I wish it was cheaper to rent a studio and hang out there with other producers and artists...that's how magic is made!