Writers Block Problem / Help Needed

ObsidianHawk

Hello producers!
First of all i'm 16 years old currently.

I've been producing electronic music for 3 years now (brakes not included), I started messing around with FL, but quickly switched to Ableton Live, because I just never got used to FL.

My problem is writers block. I haven't produced a single track in those 3 years that i've been producing. I always get stuck when I need to write the melody. I usually like to compare my projects to similiar tracks, and see how my melody works out, but im never satisfied with it, this really makes me upset, because I would really like to make the music that i've always wanted to make.

I've tryed different ways to produce tracks, but with no success. I usually start my tracks, or my projects creating the peak of the track first, because this is the most energetic part of the song.

Any thoughts, or tips?
Thank you.

I mean i'm gonna just be completely honest. Since 15 i was to just do a lot of drugs and then make music, but thats just me ( drugs are bad dont do them ) Other than that before i hit the studio the whole day leading up to it i'll listen to a lot of different genres of music and mix it up get creative ideas.

Your writers block problem is incredibly simple to fix. Begin by focusing on what type of music you want to make - rap, dubstep, whatever - and focusing on the mood you wish to instill - like being high as hell, or angry, or whatever.

Now, once you've figured that out, look up some basic chord shapes and scales. Minor keys sound ominous, major sounds joyous. Figure out which one you want to use, and start ****ing around. Then when your done, export it immediately. It won't sound "finished" -- as in, this will MAKE A MILLION DOLLARS -- but it will be, for all intents and purposes, a rough guide for further refinement, or something to show kids at school when you say you're a producer.