producers and their music knowledge

anyman

im wondering if all producers knows notation or if they can play everything with piano sheets like classical musicians ?
for example scott storch and timbaland . any info ?

from what i know, not every producer does. im guessing most producers who take their stuff seriously would make an effort to atleast learn basics though to make their life easier. im pretty sure scott storch is self taught, like alot of people. but generally a producer tries to get the most out of the artist their working with, utilising plugins etc. to get a good sound.
im not a professional producer in anyway but id say it would be different depending on the music you work with. some producers are the beat makers for rappers. but id assume if your working with bands generally they all know their parts and the music is already in place.

Hey Anyman,

I know a couple of professional producers and it's about half-half. But I have noticed some big differences between producers
who know what they're doing and those who don't. It comes down to this:

If you're interested in writing house, electronic music or other sound-based music, you're well off without knowing any music theory.
If you're into Pop, Rock and certainly RnB it makes sense to learn harmony and music theory in general. You should know how triads
work at least. Every professional producer I know knows at least that - even if they don't know which notes they're actually playing.

Best,
Friedemann

EDIT: Have to agree with KonKossKang below though: Reading music by itself is pretty useless. Music theory on the other hand... :)

Last edited:
Lol, hell no anyman. I know major/minor scales and how to read sheet but that is not necessary since edm uses a different form of sheet called piano rolls instead of traditional sheet.
Piano roll is the most common form of sheet music in edm while in acoustic music sheet is the most common form.