I rap and make beats but find myself lost between the two

AM90

im a good rapper and im a good producer yet i find myself lost in confusion when ever im in the mood to create like should i make a beat or should i write a rap should i use an old beat should i work on a new beat to write this new rap lol **** :bigeyes: i need some help with my priorities iv been working on a mixtape on and off for well over 7 months can some onebless the kid with some advice

Tell me about it! I rap, make my own beats and produce other rappers and i always think rather than being really good at one thing im ok at them all haha.. I tend to just focus on making beats and rather than force writing lyrics just wait untill im feeling inspired and just go with it like that.. Sometimes i find im making a beat based around a flow or idea i have for a verse.. I also tend to write to other producers beats to have a break from myself..

Id focus on setting up a concept for your mixtape ie; get your beats all layed out with rough ideas first and then fill in the blanks after..

If you need to get a fix in between, try writing to another producers beat.. Those lyrics could then be used over one of your own later!

Good luck ;)

Peace

Most Rappers who produce , tend to focus mainly on Producing . e.g Dr Dre , Swizz Beat , Timbaland. I think you should produce as many beats as you can , then when inspiration hits you , just pick a beat from the beats you already produced and write to it

Tell me about it! I rap, make my own beats and produce other rappers and i always think rather than being really good at one thing im ok at them all haha.. I tend to just focus on making beats and rather than force writing lyrics just wait untill im feeling inspired and just go with it like that.. Sometimes i find im making a beat based around a flow or idea i have for a verse.. I also tend to write to other producers beats to have a break from myself..