Help Please - Methods for Improving Lyrically

binary_10essee

Alright, I've been producing music for a few years now. 4 1/2 years I believe. I've always been interested in rappin' but I have never taken the time to work on that aspect. That is, until now.

I used to rap a bit here and there on my own beats. I did it mostly just to speak my mind when I had no other way that got the job done right. Now I would like to work on myself as an artist. I don't necessarily want to make it in the game as a rapper but I would like to get to the point where other rappers, who try to make it big, can work with me. I don't wanna try to get on a track with a serious rapper and sound like hell. LoL.

What techniques/methods can be used to improve lyrically? I understand word play, rhymes, multi-rhymes and so on. I feel like I need to work on flow and delivery.

Also, how do you come up with topics? Do you usually need to take a few minutes to get a good subject and then start writing? Do you usually always know what to write about?

I haven't had a hard life at all. I never ran the streets, I never sold drugs, I didn't have a broken home. I don't do drugs or and rarely do I drink, though I'll have a few drinks if I go to a club with some friends. I do, however, have a huge "fan base" of haters, haha. People are so envious because I work hard and live life for myself and my family. But I don't wanna constantly talk about haters.

Maybe I wasn't meant to be a rapper in any way. I can accept that if it's true. But maybe I simply have yet to unlock and release the inner artist. I must say, I have improved greatly from where I used to be. But I still can't listen to something I wrote/recorded and get as into it as I feel I should.

Advice anyone?