Feeling a little aggravated, can't seem to get better as a lyricist - need advice

CG Kid

Here's a song I recorded recently and is my average performance
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3WzuP7PEXg

I just don't feel my lyrics are good enough. I need help. How do you practice to become a better lyricist? What's considered a good practice?

I use to play guitar, and it was practice this + practice that = get better. With the rap thing it's always been far from black and white, and I've never been so confused. I know what I want - to be a better lyricist - but not what to practice. I have memorized a chunk of a rhyming dictionary for 4 hours a day over 5 months. I got a big vocabulary. But how do I learn to use it?

And how to you write songs? How much time do you spend writing? Right now I write in about 30 minutes to a hour then read it while I'm recording.

Last edited:
Hey,you've got a great flow and some good lyrics too,I wish I could rap like that,even though I'm a producer,I still write some lyrics on my notebook,I'm not a native english speaker so I try to write lyrics on my own language because I have a horrible accent in english,I usually spend about 30 minutes,even 45 sometimes and I first record my song to my cell phone to see how is it like and then I memorize the lyrics and record the final product,try playing with some words,expressing your emotions with some metaphors,and talk about real stuff that you live,that's how I think you'll become a better lyricist,I hope I have helped!