Deciding on a sound/the "genre conversation"

shakearray

Hey FP!​

my name is Joel Cassady - I'm a drummer/producer from Toronto Canada. I actually play drums in the Sony/Columbia Records band Walk Off The Earth as a full-time gig, but electronic music has sort of taken over my life in recent years and I've found myself getting more and more into the production side as a result.

My entryway into this world was through UK producers like Burial, SBTRKT and James Blake, but more recently I've been drawing inspiration from acts like Flume, Odesza and 20syl.

I recently started putting some music out through my Shake Array project:

https://soundcloud.com/shakearray

As you might be able to gather my output thus far is all over the map, and as I start to think about what might help me get more established (beyond making great music, of course) I can't help but consider the "What's your sound/genre?" conversation. Obviously you hear a lot of established acts these days saying "I don't care about genre, I'm just making the music that I want to make", but I feel like the reality is that you do need something to tie yourself to while you're coming up in order to stand out. There are definitely tons of great tracks out there that seem to get lost in the pile because they don't have something like "Future House" or "Chill Trap" attached to them in the marketing sense...am I wrong?

My two latest tracks are inspired by the Garage/House sound, and my most popular track thus far is a Trap-style remix of an original song that I did with a local Toronto folk singer. My next 2 tracks are more along the lines of the latter influences I listed, so yeah...all over the map indeed! Aha.