2am - future soul - dark (100% F4F)

Status
Not open for further replies.

zigoldma

hey yall,

I just started a new band yesterday and we released our first track today.

It's my first time working with these type of vocals so I was wondering if some of yall could chime in about the mixing and arrangement of the track!

Any and all feedback is appreciated and will be returned ASAP!

Y'all rock,

zzigzz

Holy shit. This was amazing. I'm honestly surprised to hear such good music here, since forums usually contain shitty artists. Great track. Seriously. I replayed a couple of times. I can see you guys going reaaaally far if you can maintain something like this. I'm hoping to hear more, so I followed yall on Soundcloud. Don't disappoint me haha.

The production is very mellow yet experimental. I like it, it isn't the usual stuff you hear today which I think will separate you from the pack. The singing is brilliant. The singer has a great voice, and I think his tone, emotion, and pace matched the production perfectly. Lyrics are nice too.

Mixing could use some work, but I really like the direction. I think the layering and the trippy reverb/flanger/chorus effects here and there really add to the track. I think you have a winning formula with these effects and techniques. But, the lead vocals seem a bit dry and repressed to me. I'd consider working on the reverb on the lead vocals a bit. Its really hard for me to reverse engineer this, but the verse part has a bit too much low end on the sides in the voice. I'm hoping this is from the reverb if there is any, but if it's not, grab a mid-side eq and cut some low end from the sides. Consider making the vocals a bit wet on the reverb too, see how that sounds. Presence is generally lacking in the vocals, so I'd boost somewhere between 2-5khz, and see how some added shine sounds with a 10k hi shelf boost sounds on the vocals.

Overall, very dope work here. Keep going, you have a new fan in me.