Tips please- How do I get drums to sound more a part of a loop?

3ternal

I know sidechaining helps, is the rest just down to reverb?

There has to be more to it then that.

No matter what if I'm sampling a small part, or looping, I always chop the sample, ALWAYS. When you chop by beat you can lay it down beat by beat by beat etc, so that the kicks and snares all fit on top of the loop properly. If you're just tossing the sample in and trying to lay drums over it, it wont work. Back before they had samplers and quantization, they did everything by ear, so the samples usually a little off. Just chop by the beat and that should help tons. hope this helps

Could you please explain more?

I'm still relatively new to the whole process of sampling.

If you chop the sample regardless, does that not give the beat a staccato sound?

Also what do you mean chopping a loop?

You don't chop a loop, other than obviously chopping it from it's source.

First of all, a beat is the sound of the tempo basically, for instance kick, snare. kick, snare. etc. (not all songs are sequenced that way, but hey.)
It shouldn't give it that staccato sound if the tempo is set high enough for the chops all to just blend nicely.