Musician's Who Never Sample RECORDS

Status
Not open for further replies.
i dont get why people care so much if a beat is sampled or not. I make both and i get the same pride from both. Samplers are talented but sampling requires different skills than traditional keyboard players

Labsky said:
i'm a musician and play 4 instruments. but i love sampling and in my opinion is the charactaristic hip hop sound, the sound of crispy drums and old vinyl samples. thats hip hop, not the plastic or techno bull****!! and if u are a good sample beatmaker, your awesome talented like kev brown, pete rock an rza!

!!!!!!!

Pimpmatik said:
Well,when Kool Herc used to spin,he'd find the break on a record and extend it and then the breakers and Mc's would do their thing.
But early hiphop records didn't use samples.Musicians were re-playing breaks or add to the tr-808 drums.
hip hop started by taking part of a record (THAT WAS NOT MADE BY THE DJ) and looping it so people would dance to them. later people would rap over them. this is how hip hop started (in a nutshell). how early hip hop records were made doesn't matter, they didn't start hip hop.

turntable/djing is not sampling. rockin' back and forth on the turntable is not looping. not to sound like those kids who study but never lived it, but hip hop is more than the music. you don't need any justification for makin' the music the way you do.

now if you're tryin' to license it for commercials, shows, etc.. you're better off composing or doing extreme chopping/transforming to avoid the hassle of having to list, and eventually having to clear, the samples.

but for an artist, if it's hot, eat the cost knowing that the people don't care how it was made just that it's lick.

Last edited:
It's funny cause the trash talking back and forth is for a reason. JEALOUSY and ENVY. If you're happy and satisfied at what you do then, well at least most people won't be talking that much trash about other peoples method.