How do you use more than one sample in a song

DavidStarz

I'm still a little new to producing, but it baffles me how people mix samples from different songs into one. Do they have to be in the same key? Around the same tempo? Do you warp them or something? So far, I've only been able to use one sample as a primary part throughout a song, but if someone can shed some light on how producers (or you yourself) mix more than one sample in a beat, it'd be greatly appreciated.

Depends on the samples.
I know cats say the key matters but i've done tracks where i've used 2 tracks and just used what sounded good.The piano from one track and the guitar from another.Wasn't in key as far as i know but it sounded dope to me.Maybe it's more of a factor if you loop but if you get in and really chop a song up,i don't think it really matters.Tempos don't even have to be that close either imo.But like i said,i guess it depends on the songs and what you want to do.

Peace

well, this won't work if the sample doesn't have the same Scale in the same Key.

Just make your own Scale in the Piano Roll if you use FL Studio with ghostnotes.
Than make your own melodies on top of your sample.
That's what i do.

Just make sure the samples are in the same key, and that's the hardest part. I use Melodyne to help me out to an extent but it's challenging.

Like dude above said, sometimes you may grab 2 random samples and just use whatever sounds good, but even at that, one way or another the samples are in the same key.

1) Draw on a black floor with white chalk an inverted pentagram
2) Draw the baphomet in the pentagram
3) Violate candles on each corner
4) Throw samples and sampling source into the penta
5)Summon Aleister Crowley
6)??????
7)"Profit"

Your samples do not need to be in the same key on their original recordings.
First match the rhythm you want, then match the pitch. Its not that hard.
They dont need to be in the same scale either.