Creating drum kits

preppypmp_82

God & The Streets
I don't care about sounding stupid, cause there is no such things as a stupid question as most of the folk on here will make you feel like there is, but how is it that producers sample drums from records or other songs to create their own kits? I am not good at mixing or mastering as I am still new to production, I usually use the drum kits that are in my Fantom but I feel as if I have exhausted those, or at least they aren't as inspiring. I have searched for these answers through google to no avail. It's like I need a sampling tutorial or something. And every free moment I have i'm going through trial and error. Is there a process or method? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

You can buy drum samples, thats one way to go, or if you have lots of patience and time you can use an audio editing prog. to "cut" your drums from vinyl. I go both ways, I purchase drum collections and use sound forge 7.0 to sample drums, then I load em into battery2 and tune them. When you sample drums try to find sections in the music where theres no background music, just drums, unless its sounds good, like a bassline in the back or some kinda sound that melds right................your ears are the key, train them well young jedi

Fo Sho!! What's an audio editing program that I can use to do this on the mac? Recycle? Bias Peak? Can it be done in Pro tools? Let me know something.

Recycle is for chopping loops, Sony sound forge is what I use but theres soo many different programs to use. Search the forums to find your answers