When sampling, do you have to match the sample tempo to the drum tempo??

LdN2

Hi, I have been producing off and on for 5 years or so now but am completely self taught and have basically learned everything the wrong way. I am mainly sample based when it comes to production but have always felt my beats were missing something.

One thing I never learned was time stretching samples to a specific tempo. I always just made my drums and then chopped up pieces of samples and placed them in the arrangement window until they sounded good to me. I still to this day do not have a sample based beat that I feel is complete.

I was wondering would I find it much easier and get better results if I match the tempo of the drums to the sample or vice versa? If so, what is the best way to do it?

Sorry if this is super basic but, like I said, I have just worked all my production software manual/tutorial free.

Appreciate any help.

PS. I am using Cubase SX & Fruity Loops

Hi, I have been producing off and on for 5 years or so now but am completely self taught and have basically learned everything the wrong way. I am mainly sample based when it comes to production but have always felt my beats were missing something.

One thing I never learned was time stretching samples to a specific tempo. I always just made my drums and then chopped up pieces of samples and placed them in the arrangement window until they sounded good to me. I still to this day do not have a sample based beat that I feel is complete.

I was wondering would I find it much easier and get better results if I match the tempo of the drums to the sample or vice versa? If so, what is the best way to do it?

Sorry if this is super basic but, like I said, I have just worked all my production software manual/tutorial free.

Appreciate any help.

PS. I am using Cubase SX & Fruity Loops