what are gems when crate digging?

mylesp510

first off i only know a few artist to look out for when i crate dig for records. normally what i do is look for stuff from the 1970 and before that. then if i see a record that catches my eye i'll look the songs up on youtube on my phone and see if i like it. so basically i have some knowledge about crate digging but i dont go enough to know alot.

now people always talk about certain records being gems. what makes the records gems other than them being rare?

Last edited:
a gem constitutes a record with a really dope sample. A rare gem tends to be preferable due to the likelihood of others sampling more common records.

There are 2 kinds of gems. The ones nobody knows about or the ones that are almost impossible to find. The stuff that most of us know about are also fairly easy to find. That being said find something nobody has rocked yet and bring it to the light. Or maybe even something that you don't think anyone else has used.

"then if i see a record that catches my eye"... Digg the records that don't catch your eye!
"first off i only know a few artist to look out for when i crate dig for records"... Dig the records where you don't know who the artists is!
Gems is that bit of sound that is epic! I just found a Russian progressive rock gem when i heard it i went through crazy.. Felt like a blessing & that is the feeling a crate digger is looking for!

agreed, they are usually hard to find or know one has heard them and they were over looked when they were released...nothing too commercial or been sample a 1000 thousand time by someone else

LOL, I think the point of digging is to look for artists you don't know.

well i look for certain artist on top of people i dont know. i look at records i dont know all the time. i just mentioned that i dont know many artist cause i wasnt sure if that had anything to do with records being gems.

LOL, I think the point of digging is to look for artists you don't know.