Timing The sample

T

Ty08

Ok i am new to sampling, but i know a couple of things. OK first you have to effect the tempo to get the timing of the loop so when you make a beat its on cue. But the things is when i try to do that using the metronome i do no know what to listen for (in fl studio 6 xxL) when you hear that clicking sound. Can someone help me in understanding the timing thanks!!!!! :)

Depending on what time you're using for the beat (most people use 4/4 cuz its popular and easy) the metronome will hit on each quarter note of the measure.

In 4/4 time a measure is 4 quarter notes long.

1 - 2 - 3 - 4, 1 - 2 - 3 - 4, etc.

usually snares are on the 2nd and 4th beat, and usually there's a bass drum on the first beat. But there's really no rules to it. So if you're just matching a beat(or sample) to a metronome you can try to listen to the snare hitting on the 2nd and 4th metronome click, or just match a loop to some division of 4, 8, 12, 16, or whatever 'notes' long. In FL studio there's probably an easier way to time a sample than by metronome but I don't use FL.

If you're just starting you may want to read about some basic music theory. Just search for it.

Good luck.

FOTNS

ok this is one of the hardest things with sampling.
1st) Play with the tempo if u cant find the tempo up beteen 140 - 199
Go down sooner or later yall find the tempo.
2nd)Pending on the sample u have somtimes there is no set tempo
for example a live band recording tempo might slighty change @ da part u want to sample.
3rd)If it is a drum machin recordin it shouldin be hard to find tempo
4th)Try usin programs like Magix to claculate the right tempo for you
This program is very useful (at least 4me)

www.myspace.com/moshighestproductions

Im having a similar problem on my fantom....WHne I try to match up my samples to a tempo...it either makes the sample go that much more slower or faster....and then with the time stretching, that only distorts it. Anyone have tips for me?