Time matching your samples with your drums

ExpLo

I have no problem with getting the rhythmn of the drums right when I compose my own melody. But when I sample something, I could never figure out how fast/slow the drums should be to match the sample, or how fast/slow the sample should be to match my drums. I tried to do it by ear, but it's not really working for me right now. Is there any strategy to get better at this?

im still a noob but this is what i do;

i look for the first bass drum of the bar and then find then last snare and let it ride a little bit untill right before the next bass drum.

another thing i do is just make it loop one bar and f*ck with the tempo untill it sounds good looped over its self.

also sometimes if that gets messed up, ill just take random cuts from a song and line them up not necessarially to ant line but just to anywhere it sounds great..

... let the sample loop...

if there are drums in the sample, play over top of those first...then add an extra kick/snare or two to make it interesting and more bouncy...

If not, just experiment...if nothing is fitting..try dropping in snares or hats just on beat... almost as if you're clapping to the beat... That should help you throw some kicks in...

Best thing I can say is...keep experimenting though...

loopster said:
what are u makin beats on
FisherPriceRecordplayer1.jpg

8b_1_b.JPG

Learn to Mix on some decks - that should help you out with timing ;)

thanks for the input guys, and guerrilafunk..that's a dope setup man, how much did that run ya? lol

That was the funniest thing I have read here. Those pics are priceless!!!

Now to try and answer the question. Here is what I learned long ago.