Thoughts on sampling

WestAve

This is my first official post on the site. I've been a lurker for a couple of weeks, but it now seems like a good time to get active. I'm a graduate student doing research on music technology, and have recently started looking at the practice of sampling for a paper. I'm especially curious about the "authenticity" of sampled beats and resulting compositions. So I was hoping to get some input in this forum with a few questions.

1. What is sampling to you? Beyond "taking a music piece or sound and using it in a beat/song", what do you consider sampling to be? New creative outlet? Interpolating music? Stealing music?

2. Does the equipment you use ultimately affect the final product? Is the choice of one software or hardware over an other affect the quality of beats that you make?

3. Do you consider sampled music to be as authentic as original music? Are producers who sample on the same level as composers and musicians?

I'm hoping to get a sense of what people think, so this isn't meant to start a flame war. I've already looked around the forum and have seen similar comments in threads, so it made sense to have a dedicated discussion.

1. The reason I started making beats. Listening to sample-based producers such as the Heatmakerz and Kanye West inspired me. It is a creative outlet in uh way. As far as chopping, I don't think it's stealing. I think sampling is misunderstood and underrated.

2. Like all types of music, equipment does affect the quality. Whether it's hardware or software doesn't matter. It's uh pretty broad question.. If you're talkin about samplin', the quality of the sample of course affects the quality of the final product. Low/Average quality MP3's, cassettes, etc.