Simple is better

Totally agree about simplicity in beat making. Seems to be alot of reference to hip-hop and rapping over a beat but id like to expand on this a bit.

If you can take just a few minimal sounds and generate a well mixed sequence that is diverse enough to stay interesting but keep the pace and feel of a tune together, youve set the backdrop for a definite hit, sometimes a great beat can be inspiration enough for a producer, and everything else falls into place from there.

Kno is one of my fave producers and ive been gettin alot of his beats recently and his loops seem so out of this world its crazy lol or is it simple and im a noob? lmao

i know this is off topic but i cant figure out to stop gettin emails everytime someone posts in the same thread i post in lol someonone tell me how to plz

also is the forum on tapatalk?

Last edited:
My philosophy is that everything depends on the sample ,the melody and the instrument layers you have.If i have a full sample with many instruments and great mellody i would go with a simple beat,and when i have a complexed beat/break i try to be simple with the samples\instruments!But i don't use it as a rule ,i like to write and listen to what fits together!

Simple beats are obviously the best. That's why some of the greatest songs of all time were made on relatively limited hardware (think SP1200)

As a rapper, give me some drums and a loop and that's fine. The point is quality components. I see people try way too hard to get all tricky with stuff that in the end still doesn't sound good. I've said this numerous times on this board. Hip-Hop is NOT complicated. It's dope beats + dope rhymes and THAT'S IT. No need to tamper with perfection.

The point is, do simple drum patterns, BUT use a dope kit that really knocks. Same with the loop, just use a really dope loop. Sometimes I like them a little dusty for nostalgia sake. Just don't skimp on your ingredients... we're cooking some real gourmet shit here.