Sampling Itimidation

S

Spektor

How many of you guys that sample in their production, let the sample like Itimidate you?

#1Like for instance when I am hearing a sample, and I like it, I go back and plug it into the sampler and then it doesnt turn out the way I want it to........or like I thought it should.

Then I just do away with the sample.

#2 Another thing when Im sampling is that I look for the easy route of sampling such as looping...........I heard other samplers such as RZA and Just Blaze and Justice leauge, and compare their work to mine and theres is phenominal. " In my mind I wonder, "How did they come up with and know to use that peiece of music!" and turn it into a whole different beat?

"3 Im not knocking my ownself, Ive been sampling for 10 years and have gotten way better, Im just a little itimidated by some things in sampling, such as chopping, and making the beat sould like as whole different piece of music.........liker for instance

ALGREN - LOVE and Happiness - One would think if he is making a love song, then to go with that sample. or another sample that is talking about love.

But I know there are some producers that dont let "AL GREEN - Love and Happiness" dictate what kinf of song their going to make or let the complexitiy a song might have, dictate their use of the sample!

Thats the way I want to be.

Yeah, sometimes you get a dope sample and just can't come up with what you would like to. Sometimes you gotta set it aside for a while or try choppin it differently. And sometimes u just gotta know when to scrap it.