Sampling

arcticx7

Hello!
My name is Simon and I'm interested in sampling. I am a complete beginner and know fairly little about the subject.
I have a couple of question if anyone could answer them I'd be really happy :D
1) Fl studio or ableton live?
2) What do I need for sampling except a sampler? - (vinyl player? midi?..)
3) Which would be the best budget samplers? (Around 100-150$)

1) Doesn't matter. Not sure why you discounted Logic, REAPER, pro tools, studio one etc, but they're there and you could look at them. (Would recommend REAPER if you're on a budget, it's a bit ugly in places but does just as many things as any other DAW... also limited instructions on how to do things, but that might not bother you)
2) Nothing
3) You don't actually need a sampler to sample. You can just put the sample straight into your DAW and chop it up there however you see fit. There are also loads of free software samplers, TX16Wx shortcircuit etc, plus both Ableton and FL will have one included.
Hardware samplers are fun toys, but you don't need one. There are also MIDI controllers for software samplers, if you have a hankering for real buttons.

Last edited:
If you plan on sampling from vinyl then apart from a turntable - you'll need an audio interface...
You may or may not need a phono preamp - your turntable might have one built in.

Then visit every one of your mates parents houses and raid their attics... Hope it ain't all country...

A lot of people sample from YouTube (among other places) - copy the link - drop the link in a 'YouTube 2 MP3' converter (loads of them), convert to WAV (I use Audacity when I do this) and drop the wav into your daw/sampler and start chopping.

I use Maschine as my sampler and Studio One as my DAW but Scrapheaper's right... Any DAW can take on the role... I'd go with Ableton if I were starting again with a a view to picking up PUSH2 (If I had the cash - I'd do it anyway - but I've other studio priorities first)