Sampling 101, question for the new guy

jonpaulr123

Hey everyone, I'm a musician who is just starting to get in to sampling and making drum grooves. I'm really interested in creating interesting drum and synth sounds like you hear from bands like air, war on drugs, postal service, and bon iver to name a few. Ideally, I would like a hardware sampler that I can put my own sampled sounds on and make grooves or synth parts on it. I believe what I'm looking for is an MPC, is this correct? If so, what do you guys recommend?

I have a new MacBook Pro and I use Logic Pro.

Thanks so much!

yes, an MPC would satisfy your requirement for a sampler, but there are also other choices that would work. A lot of people are making the SP series of samplers from Roland work quite well, so thats at least a price/feature alternative (the MPC being obviously more comprehensive and feature rich). there's others too. The new stand alone MPC series is a great return to what made the MPC great in the first place. I do not think you would be disappointed. Options are in your favor.

the MPC does not have a synth engine. it is a sampler only, if that makes sense (no oscillators, etc.)... but you could sample and edit wave forms to get creative with synthesis/sound design -through- sampling and use a sampler as a "synth". Or, sample your own synth patches and edit/chop/play. It's a fun and effective approach to production.

I too, enjoy the sounds that Postal Service creates. very gentle, groovy and soothing.