Sample based producers

C

cheddarboi

Sup producers,I'm new to music production and I want to focus on sampling but have no idea where to start from or to even find records.I use fl studio 10 and i would like some advice and tips.Thanks

As for the records, hit up record stores, thrift shops, and good will. I go for funk, jazz, instrumentals, and honestly anything with a crazy cover haha. If you get lucky and find any drum breaks chop em up! it took forever for me to find any drums so i sampled from youtube, i am also a drummer so i sample my own drums a lot.

ive never sampled with fl, but im sure theres tons of videos online. Happy digging!

Go to your local record store, thrift store etc... A local record shop near me puts out scratched records every Monday morning for free. I grab the crate, dig and find samples. Don't be scared to get a scratched old record for cheap.

A short story: I had a really scratchy record, but loved the sample. Made the beat. And it ended up selling for $600. I was going to replace the sample with a non scratchy version and he said "Don't touch it! I love the scratchiness!" - the scratch became apart of the song's vibe.

But ya, Dollar bin is the way to go.

p.s. If you want quality hard hitting sounds, DO NOT sample from youtube. The quality sucks and you will wonder why your stuff doesn't sound like the people you listen to.

Last edited by a moderator:
Find records from anywhere you can think of, what the two people above me said is good. If you aren't sampling from vinyl, at least sample from .wav format sounds.

FL is great for sampling but only if you know functions. I hate the sounds FL comes with, so all my sounds have been found and chopped from various prog-rock, jazz, funk, soul, classical, and foreign records. For drums, I often mix chops of prog-rock, funk, and mickey mouse club (forreal, i found some good shit in there lol).

I guess a simple blueprint would be: