no midi output on cubase sx3

Ermz

Ok
I have been to every forum and cant find the cure I have wasted alot of time.

I have a usb midisport 4x4 connected to my Korg X5D midi keyboard and to my pc via usb, im running cubase sx 3.
When i press the keys on my keyboard i can hear the sound and the midi input light comes ON but There is no Midi output and I cant Record. I tryed every settings on cubase and on my keyboard but cant manage to work it out. On cakewalk sonar it all works fine but not on cubase. Im using Advanced AC97 Sound card.
Please please I will beg please help me out.

Couple of questions,

How experienced are you with cubase?

Where is the sound coming from? your pc or your keyboard

Where is the midi light? your equipment or Cubase?

Thank you so much for replying.

I have little experience on cubase sx3 but trained 2 years in college on cubase vst32.
I have connected my Korg midi keyboard audio leads L and R to my pc Line in,
The sound comes from my pc when Im using Sonar prog. but no sound on cubase.
I have connected the midi in and out from my korg to my midisport interface and from the interface to the pc via USB port.
when I press a note on the keyboard the midi out light on the midisport and cubase dont flash but the midi in flashs on both. The most strange thing is, on Cakewalk Sonar it all works perfect both midi in and out works fine and I can record. But I wish I can work it on cubase.
Once again thanks for your email I hope you can help me.

Ok 1st check out this pic
cubase-sx2.png

Look to the bottom right of this picture, in the transport panel you can see 2 thin green bars, this is your stereo volume output, on the left hand side of these bars is the other 1/2 of the box, it is blank & again a little further to the left there is another thin box, this box shows midi activitiy, when you hit the korg are you seeing a red bar in this section?