A newbie question about sampling.

DareDemon666

Hi,

I've just started getting into creating music with a DAW. I am a musician of a good 10 years so I understand at least what I'm trying to do. When it comes to making music with MIDI though I have no clue of how to get more 'instruments' to use other than I need some sort of sample collection. I happened upon a thing called SoundFonts but that seems to be a really old and nearly extinct format.

I'd appreciate it greatly if someone could point me in the right direction here. As I said, I'm a musician not a technician. I don't know how to make a digital instrument, I just play 'em.

Cheers,
DareDemon666

Hi,

I've just started getting into creating music with a DAW. I am a musician of a good 10 years so I understand at least what I'm trying to do. When it comes to making music with MIDI though I have no clue of how to get more 'instruments' to use other than I need some sort of sample collection. I happened upon a thing called SoundFonts but that seems to be a really old and nearly extinct format.

I'd appreciate it greatly if someone could point me in the right direction here. As I said, I'm a musician not a technician. I don't know how to make a digital instrument, I just play 'em.

Cheers,
DareDemon666

sounds to me like you're so un-experienced with this/so far behind (no offense by the way!) in terms of technology you need to hire someone or take some classes or something. let a pro teach you if u can, u'll get it a lot faster.
bottom line is you need to buy (or download) plugins that are compatible with your setup. some of these plugins are pretty expensive but give u a good sound. if your computer is all outdated then i dunno man

Yeah I'm currently taking some classes however most of the other students are new to music in its entirety and are even a fair ways behind me on the tech. I just wondered how I'd go about adding new instruments because the ones available to me with the program are pretty poor.