Low End Theory....

Heyy, Im a sample based producer and i've been making beats for quite some time now. Throughout that time, Ive got a better ear and been noticing that some of my beats sound empty because they lack a bassline. I only know vaguely about low end theory and thats the technique I'd much rather prefer instead of creating my own bassline from vst's, however I have no clue on how to go about this. I'd appreciate if some pro sample based producers could explain lowend theory a little more in depth and mainly, how to do it???!

I use Fl Studio 9 and an Mpd 18.

Thanks in advance!​

Get your sample. Run a low pass filter on it. I think it's like SPV + 2 or something..it's the last option in the list. Mess with the resonance/eq to get it sounding how you want. Compress/normalize if you need to.

Low end theory doesn't work for each and every track though. I normally only do it if I have a track where the bass can distinctly be heard or isn't so easy to eq all the way out. That way I know I'm going to get a lively bass sound in my track.

Remember, there is bass in your drums, sample, synthesiser, bass guitar, lead guitar; doesn't really matter what you use. Try boosting the bass in other elements in accordance with you bassline. I say this because if you just have a sample, drums and a synth bass or just 'low end theory' applied, there's often a gap in the frequency. What I like to do is pitch a synthesiser to a bassy element, a guitar or upright or even some low sampled sounds and make them join.

Drums themselves can sound really good when boosted at the very low end (60hz-110hz) but be careful when boosting.