How to sample in Reason?

bgitz

I'm new to Reason so I need a little help. I have this mp3 and I want to rip a part from it, in Reason if it's possible? Easiest way would be to place the "L" and "R" tabs where I want them, and just loop it you know.

I can't open mp3 files in Reason so am I supposed to convert them first? Which device do I open the audio/mp3 in?

Any help is appreciated :)

You need to convert the mp3 to wav first off. Then you need to use a program such as Recycle or Soundforge (any software or hardware with audio editing capabilities will do) to do your chops and wotever. Then you need to export it again as a wav and import it into one of the samplers in reason (or dr rex if you exported as a .rex file).

Then you just play the notes on your keyboard and record!

SP

REAson cannot sample. It just plays them back like a sound module does. You can only rip/sample in progs like wave lab, soundforge, cool edit...

My technique is chopping up the file in audacity and exporting each chop into a wave. And then importing the chops into the nn-xt module. I sometimes use the Recyle especially if its a drum sample.

well you can open up what you want 2 sample in a program like audacity, pro tools, logic pro, etc., chop up the parts you want and then export it as a .wav then open up reason and bring the nn-19 module and open up the sample

Eveyone has just said the same thing, what's the point in that.

About as much point as this post?

SP

every 1 is sayn 2 use nn-xt which is the wrong 1 smart a$$...its nn-19

I use the NNXT for sampling. It's got a lot more features that speed workflow. I sample in reason by downloading my triton and then sampling from that. Reason then analyzes the sample, chops it, lays it down and sells it to Pharell and I just kick back and let the triton do all the work.

Anyone know where I can download an SP-1200 or an ASR-10?

nairb4131 said:
every 1 is sayn 2 use nn-xt which is the wrong 1 smart a$$...its nn-19