How do you think of a beat?

LeviiWhite

If you can't tell I am relatively new to the production side of things and I keep running into the same question. How do I create a beat in my head, then convey it physically? Some ways I tried to help the situation was by asking myself questions such as "What emotion do I want to capture?" "Do I want a up beat song or a song that drags?" you get the point. What else can I do?

Ask yourself why do you want to produce, what do you enjoy listening to and what makes what you listen to enjoyable.

I asked myself the same question but coudn't figure it out. I just go with the flow, specially with using samples!

But your questions are good, but for me they are more aming to choose a style then to transfroming a beat from your head to the DAW!

what genre i want produce?
what bpm i want to use?
How i want my Drums to sound?
clean sounds, raw sound?

Hope i could help a bit!

I think of it as composing and song-writing, as I do more in creation and production than "make beats," but the processes are generally the same... Conversely, they (creative processes) can take different forms and have different starting points. If you feel "blocked," it could be because you don't yet have all of the necessary musical tools in your toolbox. If so, keep studying and work with a more simple, loop-based program like Acid or GarageBand or a number of others. In that way, you can practice skills of seeing which samples go with which to create certain types of feels, but you won't have to synthesize music out of thin air, so to speak.

As far as inspiration for composition/song-writing/arranging/producing/beat-making, the process can start with another song you hear, a sound in your head, a drum or percussion rhythm, a bass line, a melody, chord pattern, a riff or melody fragment, or even a lyrical idea...
Try using a part of a melody or a riff from an instrumental solo, and reimagine everything else around it.

GJ