How do u sample

BoomBapBlue

Yo everyone , whats ur technique for sampling and chopping?
Im new to the game of sampling and i would like to hear how do u approach it.
I usually listen to the whole song , then i start sampling the sounds i like the most and then make a melody out of it , or sample a complete melody , chop that up and then make my own version of it.. i rarely loop an entire melody ( has got to be dope to not make it my own )
Let me know..

Last edited:
I sample vinyl records. I throw the lp on the turntable, listen to it entirely. If I find something I record it into my MPC through the dj mixer.. Then I chop it up. usually into 16 - 32 pieces... never a straight loop (that's just me).

I tend to lift the needle and skip through tracks... I usually get a sense of a track within 10 seconds as to whether there's gonna be a sample in there I can use and with the kids - time is limited so I do all I can to speed up my workflow.
I'm a Maschine user - I'll cut (truncate) the sample to as close a loop as possible then chop into either 16 or 8 slices.
Once I've chopped I'll set up choke groups (sometimes more than one) and then bang the pads til something pops.

Last edited:
I used to do the vinyl approach, but now I just look for it on the web. I never do a full loop, (unless its a rare off the hook sample) and I layer my vocals if any. It gets easy once you get used to it.

I'm sampling from vinyl or wav, or good mp3. It depends if i like the sound and how much the vinyl costs :cry:
Then i chop the samples on the beat (on the kick and on the snare). I never chop long loops. Maybe i try to look for tracks with drums are not leading (if i'm not looking for drum samples). Change pitch of the samples and i pass them through external effects (filter or delay often). There isn't a standard process, but often i start from here