help chopping

bobsmitt

i have been sampling for many months and i can't get how people chop samples so well. whenever i try taking a section of a song into the FL Slicer and placing with it i always end up with some weird melody i try to play or i play a few slices over while playing a few of them extra times. I can't figure out how people learn how to chop samples so well. any tips to learn how to chop samples as in taking parts of song and slicing it and rearranging by playing them on the keys or any other methods or FL Sampling Videos people can show me would be appreciated.

PS: i apologize for the terrible grammar and spelling the above paragraph

I wouldn't recommend using the FL Slicer if you are having difficulty. Do you have adobe audition (formerly cool edit pro). Chopping is a breeze in that program.

Not sure if you wanted certain techniques or not.
Give me an example if so.

i dont know if how much you know about sampling so im going to assume you know nothing.

you need to chop on the beat, like make your chops on a snare or a kick. for me, when using the fruity slicer, i will listen to a song, and mark the spots that i want, when i find some good sections of the song, i will count out 4 bars, sometimes more, and cut it with soundforge/audition, then ill load that into the FL slicer and you can tell it how many beats there are, then you can choose to cut on each beat or half beat, and that is the easiest way to flip samples flawlessly and make it sound like they arent even chopped, because then its just like fitting puzzle peices together, not torn peices of a picture. they fit together perfectly if your tempo is right

im sort of manual in my approach/stuck in routine/whatever