Does it matter if I get a cheap turntable

Jonoes

Looking to get started in sampling, have a play around and see if I enjoy it.

I like the idea of getting old records and sampling them.

Will a cheap USB turntable do for this if I'm just starting out?

If so, can you recommend any?

Some elitists might say otherwise but no. It doesn't really matter what turntable you have if its just for sampling. The key to getting good quality rips is all in your cartridge. Get yourself a good needle and you are all set. I have been using the Numark TTUSB for 2 years and it gets the job done. I got it for like $100 on amazon.

As long as you don't go extra cheap.

Avoid ION USB joints I had one of them and it was ass, luckily I paid next to nothing for it.

i have a numark ttusb and its good. when i was moving i bought this cheap $30 turntable off of buy.com because i didnt have alot of space. The turntable ended up giving me the buzzing everytime i played it , So i would go With the numark ttusb

At the moment I've narrowed it down to either the Numark TTUSB or the Numark PT-01USB

Only problem is I can't seem to figure out the difference between them! Can anyone help?

The PT01 is portable. Has built in speakers, smaller, can run off batteries. The PT01 is good, I had the non USB version.

So the PT-01USB is better then the TTUSB?

Edit, just noticed that the PT-01 USB is belt drive, I'm not sure what the TT USB is . . . ? Again, is this better?

Last edited:
So the PT-01USB is better then the TTUSB?

Edit, just noticed that the PT-01 USB is belt drive, I'm not sure what the TT USB is . . . ? Again, is this better?

Depends on what you're using it for. If you want to sample at home get the TTUSB, if you want something portable so you can listen to records at shops than get the PT-01USB. The TTUSB is also a belt drive, which means no scratching. If you want something you can scratch on too you will need a direct drive.

Last edited: