Do I have to sample?

lil_eazy

Do I have to sample to be a producer? cause I just can't seem to get the hang of it. Making my own beats just comes a lot more naturally to me. Any tips for someone who literally just started trying to sample? Because right now I'm pretty lost as to how to make it sound good :/ the problem is I really like the sound of sampled beats. Any pointers?

you do not need to do anything that you do not want to do - I don't sample in the modern production sense of the word, but that does not mean that I am not a producer - think of the word producer here meaning someone who creates a product like a farmer or some other business that creates real tangible things. Not every farmer has dairy cows or beef cows or or plants corn or taters or peas or beans or oranges - they are each specialities within the broad spectrum of farming.... same goes for making/producing music, pick a lane and get busy

think of the word producer here meaning someone who creates a product like a farmer or some other business that creates real tangible things. Not every farmer has dairy cows or beef cows or or plants corn or taters or peas or beans or oranges - they are each specialities within the broad spectrum of farming....

Picking up this analog, as it's a nice one. Each of those specialities requires knowledge of that exact speciality and how to make it productive. Getting that knowledge will not happen overnight and will require time put into studying and also seeing how what you picked up from studying works with the land you work with, what thrives in the soil.

First you should ask do you want to make sample-based music as bandcoach said.. If the answer is no just stick to what you prefer doing. If it is something you find interesting, start by reading the stickies here for answers to many common questions and keep practising. It will require practice.

You should probably make music you personally enjoy listening to. It makes things a lot easier.