Chop it down!!!

TDOT

What up FP!!

I'm just getting into sampling now and looking for tips.
I use Maschine and when I get my sample I have the option to chop it auto into 16 slices or manually chop it myself.
What's best?
When I use auto I find that I can't make anything out of it because some parts may be in the slice but I don't want it, but may need it later.
What do you guys do?

I use Maschine too, I've never tried the auto-chop function though. I like being able to skim through the record and find my own chops, although I'm sure one day I'll try out the auto-chop. I just prefer to manually chop as I feel it gives me WAY more control over my chops.

Respect on that, yea yesterday I tried to chop the beat up myself where I felt I wanted it but when u chop it urself the lenghts of each chop will be different...so then how to use those different size chops to fit the bpm and a 4 bar or even one bar pattern.
Do you use ur chops and make a 4 bar loop or a bar loop? or is it different everytime?

They say also if you use auto chop across 16 pads you can replay the beat back at ur own tempo whih I don't find is the case...

I prefer to chop manually, myself. It allows for better control over how you want your chops to sound. Plus, it's a lot more fun and better practice than simply pressing the autochop button!

What up FP!!

I'm just getting into sampling now and looking for tips.
I use Maschine and when I get my sample I have the option to chop it auto into 16 slices or manually chop it myself.
What's best?
When I use auto I find that I can't make anything out of it because some parts may be in the slice but I don't want it, but may need it later.
What do you guys do?

Best is what works for you

I always end up manually chopping even when you use autochop you're going go be adjusting things

i use fl and i auto chop just to get some markers in edison. most of the time i just have to make small alterations unless its jazz or something.