Best devices for sampling an environment?

dactyl

I want a device which I can use to record an environment, for instance a busy street, animal sounds, a crowd, a playground, etc. I want it to save to a digital format (wav/mp3) so that I can easily pull the samples into my DAW and work with them. I'm pretty new to this, so I am looking for suggestions on what type of device I should get. It needs to be portable.

I've been looking at the Zoom H2n, but I honestly don't know if this is the best type of device for what I am trying to do.

If anyone can give suggestions as to what devices would best accomplish this, I would really appreciate it.

The Zoom H2n is what I use. It gets me good quality recordings and is easy to use. I even plug it into my Nikon DSLR camera for making videos and the soundtrack quality is excellent. It's always in my pocket.

I want a device which I can use to record an environment, for instance a busy street, animal sounds, a crowd, a playground, etc. I want it to save to a digital format (wav/mp3) so that I can easily pull the samples into my DAW and work with them. I'm pretty new to this, so I am looking for suggestions on what type of device I should get. It needs to be portable.

I've been looking at the Zoom H2n, but I honestly don't know if this is the best type of device for what I am trying to do.

If anyone can give suggestions as to what devices would best accomplish this, I would really appreciate it.

What you'll need is a good field recorder. One with low self noise. Recorders like the H2n are "ok" they lack a lot of detail and they lack versatility.

Here's a couple basic guides on budget recorders
this guy is pretty badd ass, makes a lot of sounds for NI and very approachable

The Sound Designer's Guide To Purchasing Field Recorders | Diy Music Biz
Budget Field Recording Equipment For Game Audio and Film | Diy Music Biz