Thread: Beginner With Trouble Making Sample Based Beats

Thanks

Beginner With Trouble Making Sample Based Beats

Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi there! I've been having issues making beats off of sampling lately. I've been sampling for a while now but I never released anything due to my lack of mastering skills to finish off my material (and for data loss reasons as well...). I used to use regular headphones or a tv monitor to hear my projects, knowing that I'm listening on an unprofessional level. But now that I have my audiobox and subwoofer monitors and professional studio headphones, I decided to get back to beat making along with my addition of owning a Maschine MK1. But for some reason, though I possess a reasonable amount of records from countless attempts of random crate digging, I can't seem to find a way to use any of the records I have. I don't plan on sampling records for huge projects as I'm a novice at best, but I do want to create that 90's sample-based feel to my beats. It's as if all along, I picked the wrong records to pick up but I believe that is false because anything can really be sampled to create a gem of a project.
    Here are my two main issues:

1) The samples I have usually have drums playing over the song entirely. This makes it really difficult because it's usually either has a fast tempo or the drums have too many loud hats and snares.

2) The samples that don't have drums have all sorts of abstract instruments that sound nice on the low end but are far too improvised in terms of arrangement. I can stretch and slice or even drop the pitch which in turn, would slow the speed respectively but it'll just sound far too mellow and groggy.