You have to be kidding me...

jordonrenn

So I freelance audio engineer and I just had someone contact me about me pitch correcting and mixing their vocals in with a karaoke instrumental. She said, "Take it to whatever extreme you want, as long as it sounds like it could be played on the radio as a hit song." So I did what I could, to the best of my abilities.. I swear. I emailed her the final mix. She replies saying it is trash and that I am a horrible engineer, that she should sound as good as Rihanna. I told her that is slightly ridiculous given the quality of material provided. She explained how she works with engineers every day of her life and she knows it can be done. The worse part about this all is that she sent me a forward from another studio that contained session files. So, she paid for studio time to record this..

This is the vocal take she wanted me to mix....

https://soundcloud.com/cyrotactix/audio-4-02/s-tDz7V

Can it be done? :berzerk:

Last edited:
astonishing is all I can say - all that wait and it was just so ....... awful. I stopped after 7 words - if this were one of my children I would have said until you can sing in tune I do not want to hear it (I say this to them often and they do improve - it is simply a case of paying attention to what you are doing and it can be learnt over time)

so yes - I would suggest that you ask to speak to her recording engineer and see what they have to say.

SERIOUSLY!!!!!!! the engineers she work with only work with her so they can laugh at her. She is hilarious.:4theloveofgod: I applaud you for even attempting to mix her work.There was absolutely nothing you could have done to make her sound like Rihanna.

I think the two of you probably deserve each other.