Using Multiple Snares

berlioz

Hi, I am a prog house producer and I use Logic Pro. I have been producing for 3 years now. I am currently working on a track that I find needs to use different types of snare (not stacked). However, when I quickly transition between the two different snares (say, within the same measure) it sounds choppy and awful. Is there a method of getting away with using two different snares within the same measure?

There sure is. I actually employ several snares per piece more often than I use one or two, lends a sense of rhythm variance to the piece you're working on. Instead of treating each snare as a one-shot sample, work them in to a mixer and treat them together, give them some charm. In some cases, if the samples sound chopped and cut-up, try giving them a little atmosphere, perhaps a very mild delay with some lowpass on it, to fill out the gaps between them, can treat the resulting sound as a loop. In many cases, it helps to treat almost every single sound you process as a loop instead of a single sample. I do it myself for the performance aspect, with things like hi-hat riffs to bass drums. Try giving them some light ambience, or perhaps some stereo width with a tiny bit of low-end punch and some warm saturation:

One rhythm change I like to employ using two snares that gives a more varied rhythm effect is keeping the first snare of two in a single bar tight and monoized, with the second snare widely-mixed with plenty of pop and a pleasant amount of mid-spank, or vice versa:

Perhaps quietly mix in a bit of hi-hat with the two snares and mix them together, might lend a stronger sense of structure to the two sounds, make them sound less cut-and-dry. Creativity is always the answer.

Last edited:
By the same measure, I mean for measure 56 I use (in terms of quarter notes. 4/4 timing): snare 1, snare 1, snare 1, snare 2