Mixing & Mastering tips? (Logic Pro X)

ls2013

Sometimes when I listen to peoples music on various websites I can here that some people have a professional sound to their songs like what you would here on an album or a TV show.
Others have good sounding music but you can tell it was made by someone on their computer and not meant for professional use.
Right now the music I make does not sound too professional because I am not too good at mixing and mastering and I would like some tips to help me get my music sounding like it could be from an official source.
I generally make videogame arrangements & original pieces which can range from being rock, synth, orchestral, or ethnic sounding songs.
Can anyone give me any tips or links to tutorials that will help me achieve this on Logic Pro?

Last edited:
the DAW has absolutely nothing to do with this. techniques work across all DAW's. that being said, the biggest thing to getting a professional sounding track, is by picking instruments that all work together. make sure your frequency spectrum is nice and full, but at the same time fairly balanced. use a reference track of something you consider to be professional sounding. analyze the heck out of it. listen to all the little details. pick instruments and make choices based on what you hear in the reference track. mixing and mastering are a very small part of what make a track sound professional. instrument choice is number one. then mixing, which should be fairly easy if you've done a good job at picking the right sounds from the start. and then mastering should be super easy if you've done a good mix.