Thread: Drake Vocal Effect

milestone Guest

Drake Vocal Effect

Sign in to disable this ad
    Hey guys, if anyone has heard drake's 'best i ever had' or 'stunt hard', on his hooks, he does the singing type thing, i've tried loads of different methods and i cant seem to work out how to get that same effect. You know, its kind of like a robotic sound. I thought it might be just double vocals or maybe a slight chorus / delay but i cant seem to get it right. Can anyone help me by suggesting a possible chain to get a similat effect?

Heres a link to 'best i ever had'

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NYdo3...eature=related

joannesherrell is offline Warrior Member
    Thanks
    Isn't it autotune?
    [URL="http://luvandmusic.wordpress.com"]Love&Music[/URL]: My personal music blog.

milestone Guest
    Yeh it is, im totally new to all this minxing and vocals stuff, i got a similar effect using autotune in graphical mode and doubling and stacking, Reverb, delay, compression and EQ

Bawws is offline Registered User
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by milestone View Post
    Yeh it is, im totally new to all this minxing and vocals stuff, i got a similar effect using autotune in graphical mode and doubling and stacking, Reverb, delay, compression and EQ
    Can you share that via post or PM?

milestone Guest
    Well, i recorded the vocals, and set autotune to the usual t pain settings and played with the scale untill it sounded close to right, then i went into graphic mode and pressed 'track pitch' and played the vocals, then i used the 'get auto' or whatever the button is. After that, i just drew in new lines with the 'snap to note tool' closest to which notes the automatic retuning used. I find this sounds better, because it avoids the wobbly snapping effect that autotune sometimes has, i set the retune to about 10.