do filters differ from one another?

dmajor100

Im not experienced yet but ive read and hearf about of filters wither it be pro tools,waves,analog,any plug in can do more than give u low pass or high pass but some can change the tone. Im at audio school and a intern that told me to use a different eq plug in cause he said it sounded way better than pro tools and i was freaked out a bit cause my thinking was like” this is digital not analog so how can it be different”. Also over heard a chief enginner say to another pro that good filter are hard to find so im assuming theres truth to this. Mainly bringing this up cause im thinking of getting a old akai s950 to sample drums and use the filters in areas they need. So any real techy enginneers with real answers that would like to shed some light on this?

I don't know that I'd turn to an old sampler for decent filters. Not that it can't give you good results, but the digital to analog conversion and analog to digital conversion is likely to introduce noise and lessen your quality unless you're using decent converters.

I think the bigger question is, what do you want a filter to do, that you can't do with a filter that you have now?

As far as them being different. As with traditional filters, some have steep curves, some smoother. Some are selectable between 12db/24db. Many eq's can be used like filters. Filters are easier to grasp due to their simple knobs user interface and the resonance can really affect the sound by making a certain frequency more prominent, depending on the cutoff. I don't use filters that much when mixing, at least not dedicated filters. I use an EQ as a filter, however.