Creating Headroom via Gain Knob

Czarkasm

I understand the concept of leaving headroom when mixing a beat to leave room for vocals and mastering but I don't understand why its not a common practice (from every tutorial or article I've read on the subject, I am by no means an expert) to use a gain knob on the master track to lower the volume as a whole. Would there be some sort of change In my audio that I'm not aware of? Thanks

I understand the concept of leaving headroom when mixing a beat to leave room for vocals and mastering but I don't understand why its not a common practice (from every tutorial or article I've read on the subject, I am by no means an expert) to use a gain knob on the master track to lower the volume as a whole. Would there be some sort of change In my audio that I'm not aware of? Thanks

You can lower the master fader for head room, just makes everything quieter. There are just other ways of doing it without lowering your master volume and losing loudness(ex: Cutting out unwanted frequencies)

and on the other hand I imagine a tutorial for "How to get more headroom" showing them opening their DAW and lowering the master volume isn't going to be very successful so that's may be another reason you don't see it.

The best way for me to make sure there is plenty of headroom is to simply lower the volume plenty already at the start. As in if you start with a kick drum and lower that by 12db in the audio clip or what ever you choose to use, and mix everything in relation to that you'd essentially never really have to worry about clipping the plugins if your faders are set to 0, and just lower the output of any plugin that you add next that happens to clip the channel.

That's how I do it. It's a pain in the butt to go back on a 60 track project and start gain staging everything in retrospect.

Last edited: