Can i have your .02 cents?

Hi Future Producers!

I just signed up to this forum, but i been around for a couple of months.

I really like it here, and already have gotten alot of useful info for my productions.

I believe here are lots of producers who really know what they are doing and talking about, so i´d like to ask for they´re opinion/advice.

I´ve been making instrumentals for roughly a year. Now i been wanting to make whole songs and beats with hooks.

So I started playing around with a short beat and a verse or hook or whatever you wanna call it.

Check here -> https://soundcloud.com/masterpiecebeats/under-control

All in all, its all not that fancy, just a little playing around, nothing serious.

My problem is, i find it hard to get the vocal "sitting" right in the mix.
I really don´t now what im doing wrong or missing here.

Maybe one of you guys could take a listen and give me some ideas/ or advice to fix the problem.

Any advice is appreciated! thanks alot!

Last edited:
Thats a nice concept!

The issue your running into is that your vocals are not compressed (or not compressed well). In comparison to the synths used (which are always compressed and EQ'd by commercial standards) your vocals are getting lost because they need to be compressed to give it a bigger and fatter presence. Also the low-mid range in the EQ seems like it was dropped out (mind you I'm listening on earbud headphones).

Your synths normally have a lot of mid, so your vocals need that mid range to stay at par. then the compression will put your vocals over and all that would need to be done is some panning to really sit well in the mix.

Good practice would be to listen to a high quality music track that is similar and listen back between that record and yours. You will start to hear the difference and you compensate to make your mix sound like that one. You do this more and you'll get better and better at mixing.

Good Luck!