Are the Yamaha HS7 monitors good on bass without a sub?

Andy Grewal

Okay, so I'm buying my first pair of pro monitors for my home studio set up (finally) along with other equipment. For this post my question was, are the HS7's good on low frequencies without a sub woofer?

I'm gonna be making hip hop, dub step, dnb, so I'll be using sub bass a lot. I heard a lot of people saying that the Yamis aren't on par with the KRK's when it comes to bass.

What do you guys think? Should I get the HS7's with/without a sub, or decide on other monitors that would be best for my production. Thanks in advance FP.

They will work somehow, but never as good as with a subwoofer.
If you work in bass-heavy genres like those you listed I would push a sub high up on the priority list.

That's true, I wouldn't get that bass quality without a sub. With that being said, HS7's plus SubWoofer or KRK VXT-6's? Sorry if I'm asking a whole lot, I'm new to this whole FP thing lol. Thanks for your quick reply :)

Last edited:
The HS7 is rated at 43 Hz which is not much different to the old 42 Hz HS80M, the new HS8 is rated at a slightly lower 38 Hz...The old HS10W sub was rated at 30 Hz while the new HS8S sub is rated to go as low as 22 Hz.

hmm that's interesting. Thanks for the specs. So I would assume Yamaha HS series monitors would have to require a sub, for my production needs. If I get the VXT8's or even 6's, will that eliminate the need for a sub? I also have to consider which monitors are more truthful, uncoloured, and flat as possible. Decisions, decisions.

People say a lot of good stuff about the KRKs in this thread here at GZ.
The HS7 is a cheaper monitor I believe. I have heard the HS7 but not in an environment where I was able to judge them.

If the plan is to go without sub it might seem that the KRK is the way to go. The KRK seems like a better (and more expensive) monitor.
But I´m guessing wild here as I haven´t A/B´d them.